Skills >> Browse Articles

Browse Employment Law Articles

  • +1

    Oregon Employment Laws

    Overview Basic Minimum Rate (per hour) Premium Pay After Designated Hours Daily Weekly $7.95 (Same as Federal) 40 More Info: Premium pay required after 10 hours a day in nonfarm canneries, driers, or packing plants and in mills, factories or manufacturing establishments (excluding sawmills, planning mills, shingle mills, and logging camps). Beginning January 1, 2004, and annually thereafter, the rate will ...
    Published about 11 years ago | Rated: +1
  • Rate

    Pennsylvania Employment Laws

    Overview Basic Minimum Rate (per hour) Future Effective Date Premium Pay After Designated Hours Daily Weekly $7.15 $7.25   July 2009 (Same as Federal) 40 External Links Pennsylvania Department of Labor Website: http://www.dli.state.pa.us/
    Published about 11 years ago | Rate This
  • +6

    Employee Termination Checklist

    Employee Termination Checklist Know precisely why the employee is being dismissed; the grounds should be based, obviously, upon nondiscriminatory reasons. Once the decision is made, set a private appointment in your office to ensure control and privacy. Under no circumstances should the dismissal be done on the telephone or in a social setting. There is never a “good” time to dismiss, ...
    Published about 11 years ago | Rated: +6
  • Rate

    Disability-Related Questions You Can and Cannot Ask

    Examples of Permissible/Impermissible Disability-Related Questions You Can and Cannot Ask Diabetes — An individual with diabetes applying for a receptionist position voluntarily discloses that she will need periodic breaks to take medication. The employer may ask the applicant questions about the reasonable accommodation such as how often she will need breaks, and how long the breaks must be. Of course, the ...
    Published about 11 years ago | Rate This
  • +1

    FLSA Recordkeeping Checklist

    FLSA Recordkeeping Checklist Employers are required to keep records on wages, hours, and other items for at least six years. With respect to an employee subject to both minimum wage and overtime pay provisions, the following records must be kept: Personal information, including employee’s name, home address, zip code, occupation, sex, and birth date (if under 19 years of age). ...
    Published about 11 years ago | Rated: +1
  • +1

    Colorado Employment Laws

    Overview Basic Minimum Rate (per hour) Premium Pay After Designated Hours Daily Weekly $7.02 12 40 More Info: Minimum wage rate and overtime provisions applicable to retail and service, commercial support service, food and beverage, and health and medical industries. External Links Colorado Department of Labor Website: http://www.coworkforce.com/
    Published about 11 years ago | Rated: +1
  • Rate

    Connecticut Employment Laws

    Overview Basic Minimum Rate (per hour) Premium Pay After Designated Hours Daily Weekly $7.65 (Same as Federal) 40 More Info: In restaurants and hotel restaurants, for the 7th consecutive day of work, premium pay is required at time and one half the minimum rate. The Connecticut minimum wage rate automatically increases to 1/2 of 1 percent above the rate set in ...
    Published about 11 years ago | Rate This
  • Rate

    Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA)

    Synopsis: The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) , which prescribes standards for the basic minimum wage and overtime pay, affects most private and public employment. It requires employers to pay covered employees who are not otherwise exempt at least the federal minimum wage and overtime pay of one-and-one-half-times the regular rate of pay. For nonagricultural operations, it restricts the hours that ...
    Published about 11 years ago | Rate This
  • +2

    Equal Employment Opportunity (EEO) Laws

    The Federal laws prohibiting job discrimination are: a. Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 (Title VII), which prohibits employment discrimination based on race, color, religion, sex, or national origin; b. The Equal Pay Act of 1963 (EPA), which protects men and women who perform substantially equal work in the same establishment from sex-based wage discrimination; c. The Age ...
    Published about 11 years ago | Rated: +2
  • Rate

    Massachusetts Employment Laws

    Overview Basic Minimum Rate (per hour) Premium Pay After Designated Hours Daily Weekly $8.00 (Same as Federal) 40 More Info: The Massachusetts minimum wage rate automatically increases to 10 cents above the rate set in the Fair Labor Standards Act if the Federal minimum wage equals or becomes higher than the State minimum. External Links Massachusetts Department of Labor Website: http://www.mass.gov/?pageID=elwdhomepage&L=1&L0=Home&sid=Elwd ...
    Published about 11 years ago | Rate This
  • Rate

    Michigan Employment Laws

    Overview Applies to: Basic Minimum Rate (per hour) Future Effective Date Premium Pay After Designated Hours Daily Weekly   (Applicable to employers of 2 or more employees)   $7.15 $7.40   07/01/2008 (Same as Federal) 40 More Info: The State law excludes from coverage any employment that is subject to the Federal Fair Labor Standards Act unless the State wage rate ...
    Published about 11 years ago | Rate This

Poll: How do you feel about crying at work?

Poll: How do you feel about crying at work?