Skills >> Browse Articles

Browse Skills Articles

  • +1

    Oklahoma Employment Law

    Overview Applies to: Basic Minimum Rate (per hour) Future Effective Date Premium Pay After Designated Hours Daily Weekly Employers of ten or more full time employees at any one location and employers with annual gross sales over $100,000 irrespective of number of full time employees. $5.85 $6.55 $7.25 07/24/2008 07/24/2009 (Same as Federal) (Same as Federal) All other employers.   $2.00 ...
    Published about 11 years ago | Rated: +1
  • +1

    Oregon Employment Laws

    Overview Basic Minimum Rate (per hour) Premium Pay After Designated Hours Daily Weekly $7.95 (Same as Federal) 40 More Info: Premium pay required after 10 hours a day in nonfarm canneries, driers, or packing plants and in mills, factories or manufacturing establishments (excluding sawmills, planning mills, shingle mills, and logging camps). Beginning January 1, 2004, and annually thereafter, the rate will ...
    Published about 11 years ago | Rated: +1
  • +1

    Is Leadership an Occupation?

    Is Leadership an Occupation?
    Recently, I met someone who’s looking for a new opportunity (read: they’re unemployed). When I asked them what kind of work they were looking for, they said they wanted to be a leader. It took me a few moments to process the reply. I hadn’t really spent a lot of time considering it. Is being a leader an occupation? I mean, ...
    Published over 8 years ago | Rated: +1
  • Rate

    Pennsylvania Employment Laws

    Overview Basic Minimum Rate (per hour) Future Effective Date Premium Pay After Designated Hours Daily Weekly $7.15 $7.25   July 2009 (Same as Federal) 40 External Links Pennsylvania Department of Labor Website: http://www.dli.state.pa.us/
    Published about 11 years ago | Rate This
  • +1

    HRPeople's Featured Partners

    Take a look at some of the other sites we recommend for HR professionals. And don't forget about our featured writers! Add a link to HRPeople on your site. [photo:53297] Recchion and Associates, Inc. Gary Recchion, with Recchion and Associates, Inc., has 20 years in global career development and outplacement coaching and training supporting both individual and corporate clients from Phoenix, ...
    Published over 10 years ago | Rated: +1
  • Rate

    Rhode Island Employment Laws

    Overview Basic Minimum Rate (per hour) Premium Pay After Designated Hours Daily Weekly $7.40 (Same as Federal) 40 More Info: Time and one-half premium pay for work on Sundays and holidays in retail and certain other businesses is required under two laws that are separate from the minimum wage law. External Links Rhode Island Department of Labor Website: http://www.dlt.state.ri.us/
    Published about 11 years ago | Rate This
  • Rate

    Partner with HRPeople

    Partner with HRPeople
    Have your own website? Have a MySpace account? Here's a great way to spread the word about HRPeople. Just copy and paste the code from the text box below the image of your choice into the HTML body of your page. HRPeople is now offering all member-owned websites the opportunity for partnership and link swapping. Email: info@hrpeople.com for more information. If ...
    Published over 10 years ago | Rate This
  • Rate

    South Carolina Employment Laws

    Overview Basic Minimum Rate (per hour) Premium Pay After Designated Hours Daily Weekly No state minimum wage law. External Links South Carolina Department of Labor Website: http://www.llr.state.sc.us/
    Published about 11 years ago | Rate This
  • Rate

    South Dakota Employment Laws

    Overview Basic Minimum Rate (per hour) Future Effective Date Premium Pay After Designated Hours Daily Weekly $5.85 $6.55 $7.25   07/24/2008 07/24/2009 (Same as Federal) (Same as Federal) External Links South Dakota Department of Labor Website: http://www.state.sd.us/applications/LD01DOL/frameset.asp?navid=&filtertype=1
    Published about 11 years ago | Rate This
  • Rate

    Tennessee Employment Laws

    Overview Basic Minimum Rate (per hour) Premium Pay After Designated Hours Daily Weekly No state minimum wage law. External Links Tennessee Department of Labor Website: http://state.tn.us/labor-wfd/
    Published about 11 years ago | Rate This
  • Rate

    Texas Employment Laws

    Overview Basic Minimum Rate (per hour) Future Effective Date Premium Pay After Designated Hours Daily Weekly $5.85 $6.55 $7.25   07/24/2008 07/24/2009 (Same as Federal) (Same as Federal) More Info: The State law excludes from coverage any employment that is subject to the Federal Fair Labor Standards Act. The Texas State minimum wage law does not contain current dollar minimums. Instead ...
    Published about 11 years ago | Rate This
  • Rate

    Utah Employment Laws

    Overview Basic Minimum Rate (per hour) Future Effective Date Premium Pay After Designated Hours Daily Weekly $5.85 $6.55 $7.25 07/24/2008 07/24/2009 (Same as Federal) (Same as Federal) More Info: The Utah state minimum wage law does not contain current dollar minimums. Instead the state law authorizes the adoption of the Federal minimum wage rate via administrative action. The State law excludes ...
    Published about 11 years ago | Rate This
  • +2

    Six Reasons Why Companies Drug Test

    Six Reasons Why Companies Drug Test
    In an article published on March 24, we presented "The Six Key Elements of a Drug Abuse Prevention Program." One of these elements is drug testing. As a follow-up to that article, we are going to post two articles this week on whether or not to implement a drug testing program. The first article will present six reasons why companies implement ...
    Published almost 11 years ago | Rated: +2
  • Rate

    Vermont Employment Laws

    Overview Applies to: Basic Minimum Rate (per hour) Premium Pay After Designated Hours Daily Weekly (Applicable to employers of two or more employees) $7.68 (Same as Federal) 40 More Info: The State overtime pay provision has very limited application because it exempts numerous types of establishments, such as retail and service; seasonal amusement/recreation; hotels, motels, restaurants; and transportation employees to whom ...
    Published about 11 years ago | Rate This
  • +1

    Virginia Employment Laws

    Overview Applies to: Basic Minimum Rate (per hour) Future Effective Date Premium Pay After Designated Hours Daily Weekly (Applicable to employers of 4 or more employees) $5.85 $6.55 $7.25   07/24/2008 07/24/2009 (Same as Federal) (Same as Federal) More Info: The Virginia state minimum wage law does not contain current dollar minimums. Instead the state adopts the Federal minimum wage rate ...
    Published about 11 years ago | Rated: +1
  • Rate

    Washington Employment Laws

    Overview Basic Minimum Rate (per hour) Premium Pay After Designated Hours Daily Weekly $8.07 (Same as Federal) 40 More Info: Premium pay not applicable to employees who request compensating time off in lieu of premium pay. Beginning January 1, 2001, and annually thereafter, the rate will be adjusted for inflation by a calculation using the consumer price index for urban wage ...
    Published about 11 years ago | Rate This
  • Rate

    West Virginia Employment Laws

    Overview Applies to: Basic Minimum Rate (per hour) Future Effective Date Premium Pay After Designated Hours Daily Weekly (Applicable to employers of 6 or more employees at one location)   $6.55 $7.25   07/01/2008 (Same as Federal) 40 External Links West Virginia Department of Labor Website: http://www.wvlabor.org/
    Published about 11 years ago | Rate This
  • Rate

    Wisconsin Employment Laws

    Overview Basic Minimum Rate (per hour) Premium Pay After Designated Hours Daily Weekly $6.50 (Same as Federal) 40 External Links New York Department of Labor Website: http://www.dwd.state.wi.us/
    Published about 11 years ago | Rate This
  • Rate

    Wyoming Employment Laws

    Overview Basic Minimum Rate (per hour) Premium Pay After Designated Hours Daily Weekly $5.15 (Same as Federal) (Same as Federal) External Links Wyoming Department of Labor Website: http://wydoe.state.wy.us/doe.asp?id=3
    Published about 11 years ago | Rate This
  • Rate

    State Guides

    • *Alabama* • *Alaska* • *Arizona* • *Arkansas* • *California* • *Colorado* • *Connecticut* • *Delaware* • *District of Columbia* • *Florida* • *Georgia* • *Hawai'i* • *Idaho* • *Illinois* • *Indiana* • *Iowa* • *Kansas* • *Kentucky* • *Louisiana* • *Maine* • *Maryland* • *Massachusetts* • *Michigan* • *Minnesota* • *Mississippi* • *Missouri* • *Montana* • *Nebraska* • *Nevada* ...
    Published about 11 years ago | Rate This

Poll: How do you feel about crying at work?

Poll: How do you feel about crying at work?