Print

Skills >> Browse Articles >> Employment Law

+1

Virginia Employment Laws

HRPeople

March 10, 2008

Overview

Applies
to:
Basic
Minimum Rate
(per hour)
Future
Effective
Date
Premium Pay After
Designated Hours
Daily Weekly
(Applicable to employers of 4 or more employees) $5.85
$6.55
$7.25
 
07/24/2008
07/24/2009
(Same as Federal) (Same as Federal)


More Info:

The Virginia state minimum wage law does not contain current dollar minimums. Instead the state adopts the Federal minimum wage rate by reference.

The State law excludes from coverage any employment that is subject to the Federal Fair Labor Standards Act.



External Links

Virginia Department of Labor Website: http://www.doli.virginia.gov/


Poll: How do you feel about crying at work?

Poll: How do you feel about crying at work?