Print

Skills >> Browse Articles >> Employment Law

+4

California Employment Laws

HRPeople

March 05, 2008

Overview

Basic
Minimum Rate
(per hour)
Premium Pay After
Designated Hours
Daily Weekly
$8.00 8
Over 12 (double time)
40
7th day: First 8 hours (time and half)
Over 8 hours (double time)

More Info:

Overtime is due after 8 hours per day or 40 hours per week unless an alternative workweek of no more than 4 days of 10 hours was established prior to 7/1/99.

Premium pay on 7th day not required for employee whose total weekly work hours do not exceed 30 and whose total hours in any one work day thereof do not exceed 6, in specific wage and hour orders.



External Links

California Department of Labor Website: http://www.dir.ca.gov/


Poll: How do you feel about crying at work?

Poll: How do you feel about crying at work?